Today it is raining.  And I am sick.  Like gross can’t let people see me sick.  Coughy, sneezy congested, yuck.  But I promised a soufflé and a soufflé there is!  Or was, now it is in my stomach.  When I woke up this morning I read one hundred different ways to make a soufflé and as usual, I got fed up with too much advice and decided just to use all the best suggestions and see what happened.

As you can see from the ingredient list below, this is almost painfully bland.  Makes me cringe a little, but in my current state I wasn’t inclined to go to the store to get tasty things to put in it, and even if I did, it would have been wasted since I can’t taste anything anyway.   It didn’t really take away from the effect though.   Biting into this soufflé was like biting into a cloud.  So incredibly airy and light!  Someday I will revisit this brunch dish with sautéed mushrooms and herbs, but for now here it is…my rainy day soufflé.

Ingredients:

2 tbsp flour

2 tbsp butter or margarine

1/3 cup coconut milk (or regular milk)

2 tbsp water

2 egg yolks

¼ tsp salt

2 egg yolks

3 egg whites

Preheat oven to 350.  Grease one or two small dishes.  Whisk the flour and the butter in a medium sized pot until the flour is cooked.  I guessed about 3 minutes.  Add the coconut milk and water, whisking furiously until smooth and creamy.  Remove from heat and let cool slightly.  Whisk the egg yolks together and incorporate them into the cream sauce.  Now set that aside to cool and focus on the most important part.

Beating the dickens out of those egg whites!

Apparently it is possible to do this by hand, after all soufflé’s have been around longer than electric mixers, but my arms didn’t feel quite up to the task, so I just set out with the egg whites in a large mixing bowl and set the electric beater to high for about 5 minutes.   I ended up with a bowl of stiff opaque whiteness that could held its shape quite easily.

Time for another important tip…you’ve spent all this time making millions of little bubbles so your soufflé will rise properly, don’t ruin all that work by crushing them!  Scoop them out of the bowl carefully with a spatula, fold them *gently* into the now mostly cool cream sauce, and immediately transfer to prepared dishes and pop in the oven.

Now here is where I fail.  I never remember to check the time when I put things in the oven…so in the time it took me to make coffee, do a little studying, and all of the dishes (including yesterday’s of course), the soufflé was nearly finished.  Maybe 25 minutes?  When I peaked in the oven it was slightly browned on top and well risen out of its dish.  It probably could have used a few more minutes, the middle was a little loose, but I can’t stand overcooked egg, so I erred on the side of slightly underdone.

In any case, it did not fall so I consider it a success!

Katie

