I have to apologize.  I cannot carry through with my promise for cookie dough truffles.  I was shooting for these:

And I got these:

Big fat awkward fail balls.

I thought about writing them up anyway, since they do taste really good, but the internet is full of half-baked recipes (excuse the pun—I can’t help myself sometimes). I’m here to give you fully polished ones.  So I fail on the truffles, but what I can give you instead is an exceptional, original recipe for non-dairy Irish Cream.  Liqueur may not be at the top of your list of things to make at the moment, but stash it away, because it is quite the party crowd pleaser!

And speaking of parties, before I get too carried away, I am hosting a party this weekend that I spent a long time in the kitchen preparing for.  This should mean I have a lot of food to share with you all.  Unfortunately though, aside from the Irish cream, most of the dishes are waiting till Saturday to be baked, and the rest belong to the daring kitchen challenge, which I can’t reveal yet. The good news is though, after a weekend hiatus I shall return with an abundance of good recipes!

Irish Cream – makes approximately one 750 ml bottle:

2 cans lite coconut milk

½ – 1 cup sugar

2 tbsp cocoa powder

¼ cup ground coffee

¼ tsp almond extract – don’t skimp on this!

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 ¾ cup Jameson Whisky

Bring coconut milk, ½ cup sugar, and cocoa powder to boil in a sauce pan.  Place the coffee in a tea ball if you have one.  If you don’t, like me, you can make a satchel out of a coffee filter and a clean rubber band.  Alternatively you can just add a shot of espresso or extremely strong coffee, but I like it better when it’s infused right in.  Add coffee to the pot.  Simmer ~1 hour or until mixture is reduced to less than 2 cups.  Taste test to see if you’d like to add more sugar.  It should be fairly sweet as it is a strong liqueur, but it’s your irish cream, so it’s up to you!

When the mixture has reduced to the right amount, remove coffee, turn off heat and let it cool completely.  Stir in almond, vanilla, and Jameson.  At this point it will just taste like sweet-chocolaty whisky, but don’t worry, it’s not done yet!  Using a funnel (trust me on this one), pour it into a cleaned liquor bottle, or another storage container of your choice, and let it sit in the fridge overnight.  Hold yourself back, it really does need to sit.

Serve as you would Bailey’s.  In coffee, hot chocolate, or my favorite…blended with milk and ice.

Now go be a huge dork like me and decorate your bottle!

Enjoy Responsibly,

Katie

