I’m guessing with all these vegetarian posts, you probably don’t believe, despite all my references to bacon, I am truly a huge meat advocate.  Well you’re WRONG.  I love it!  My not-so-animal-conscientious brain can handle about a week of non-stop veggi-ness, two at the max, before it is overwhelmed with carnivorous desire. It says “beeeeeeef.” I think if you get real close to my head, you can even hear it. I could probably find the will-power to fight this mystery voice, but in my wise old age I think it’s important to listen to your body.  It can tell you a lot about what you need…and definitely do not need.

Caveat and med school factoid:  If your body is telling you to compulsively eat dirt, don’t do that!

But getting back to the meat…last week I found myself with 3 lbs of extra steak in my freezer.  Long story, but it may or may not have been the consequence of those animalistic animal cravings.  Luckily for me, TDK’s January’s recipe challenge was Satay!  Of course I was too late to participate in the actual challenge but the recipe was well worth revisiting, and for being a challenge, it’s actually quite easy!  Also, I got to serve it at my party, which meant I had some help in consuming all that proteiny goodness.  Three pounds of steak is a whole heck of a lot even by my standards.

Oh yea, AND there’s no flour in either the satay or the sauce!  GF love ❤

As you can see, mine wasn’t the only tasty dish on the table.  I have amazingly talented friends. Couldn’t give out their secrets even if I wanted to though!

Marinade for 1 lb:

1/2 small onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, crushed

1 tbsp ginger root, chopped

2 tbsp lemon juice (about 1 lemon’s worth)

1 tbsp soy sauce

1 tsp ground coriander

1 tsp ground cumin

½  tsp ground turmeric

2 T vegetable oil

1 pound of meat of your choice cut into strips. (extra-firm tofu works too if you really can’t stomach the meat thing)

Combine ingredients in a large bowl.  Make sure meat is well coated, then transfer to a gallon ziplock bag at least overnight.  Original recipe says marinate “up to 24 hours” but I ended up letting mine sit for 2 nights. What can I say? I like a good risk! Anyway, after cooking the first batch, I found the steak wasn’t nearly salty enough with the marinade alone, so I recommend an extra coat of salt and pepper right before you cook it. To cook, heat oil in a pan on high and fry meat until it is browned. When it’s done it’s oh so juicy and flavorful MMM. After it’s cooled off a little, place it on medium sized bamboo skewers and set out next to sauce.  It would probably be a lot better grilled, but who wants to grill in January?  If you answered yes, let me know where you live, I’m coming over to your house for dinner!

Peanut Satay Sauce

3/4 cup lite coconut milk – (I think regular makes it too thick)

4 tbsp peanut butter (or cashew butter if peanut allergies are an issue)

1 tbsp lemon juice (about half a lemon)*

1 tbsp soy sauce

1 tsp brown sugar – more to taste

1/2 tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp ground coriander

¼ tsp Thai Chili Garlic sauce **

* Go for REAL lemon juice. This holds true for every recipe. Learned it from my mother. Try it and you’ll see why. Thanks Mom!

** This is my own additional secret ingredient rather than chopped up chillies.  I find it adds a more flavorful kick. Use sparingly though, it’s VERY hot! Find it in the Asian foods section of just about any grocery store.

To make the sauce just whisk all the ingredients together. If possible, make the sauce at the same time you make the marinade.  It also gets way better after it sits for a night!  Another note, I used natural peanut butter so I ended up adding about 3 tbsp extra sugar. I suggest trying it with at least 1 tablespoon more sugar than the original recipe calls for. It adds an entirely new dimension to the sauce.

Happy dipping!

Katie

