This morning I woke up with one thought on my mind.

Blueberry muffins.  Must have blueberry muffins. It even kept me from hitting the snooze button for the third time.

Good thing I bought a pound and a half of blueberries yesterday.

So before I even brushed my teeth, I went searching through my favorite baking blog, Joy the Baker, absolutely certain she would have the ultimate blueberry muffin recipe.

I was right.  There it was…Browned Butter Blueberry Muffins. And pretty to boot! Could you ask for more on a Monday morning? If you haven’t done so yet, check out her site! She’s absolutely brilliant…and she will probably never know I said that, but that’s alright.

I hardly made any adaptations to this recipe at all, other than not browning the butter (I wasn’t too sure how browned margarine would taste) so you can read the recipe here or read the original there, your choice. Either way, the results are delectable.

Blueberry Muffins:

7 tbsp margarine

1/3 cup soy milk creamer

1 large egg

1 large egg yolk

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup sugar

1 ½ tsp baking powder

¾ tsp salt

2 cups fresh blueberries

Topping:

3 tbsp margarine cut into ½ inch cubes

½ cup all-purpose flour

3 ½ tbsp sugar

Preheat oven to 375, line 12 muffin cups.

Melt margarine in a saucepan, but I don’t recommend trying to brown it, remove from heat.

Whisk soy creamer, egg, yolk and vanilla until combined.  Add margarine.

Whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl  Add liquid mixture all at one and stir gently to combine.  Gently but thoroughly fold in the blueberries.

Divide the batter among muffin cups and spread evenly.

To make the topping combine all of the ingredients in a bowl and rub together with your fingertips until crumbly.  Sprinkle evenly over the batter in the cups.  Note: I only used a little over half of the topping.  Perhaps my muffin pan is small, but as you can see below, my muffins were overflowing already!

Bake until golden and crisp and a wooden pick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean, about 18-20 minutes.

Try to wait for them to cool before taking a bite, I dare ya.

Katie

